Cotton

Cotton

By Stephen Yafa

  • Release Date : 2004-12-29
  • Genre : World
  • FIle Size : 1.37 MB
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

Cotton In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's Cotton gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bug—the boll weevil—world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed,  conflict, and opportunism, Cotton offers "a barrage of fascinating information" (Los Angeles Times)., cotton on, cotton gin, cottonmouth, cottonwood tree, cotton, cotton candy, cotton eye joe, cotton candy grapes, cottonwood ca, cottonwood

keyboard_arrow_up